Saying “I’m Sorry”

OOOOh those are words most folks hate saying…”I’m sorry.”  I’ll raise my hand here too, as more often than not, I’d rather pull eye teeth out than say it.

Why is that?

Pride.  Yep, that sin that has a habit of slipping in and quietly taking over.  “I’m not wrong, he’s the one who did such and such”, or “she’s the one who owes ME an apology”, (do I need to go on?)  Pride says that the other party owes an apology, and you won’t cave in and let go until they do.  Pride says “I’m right, how could I possibly be wrong?”

But what does the Lord say about pride?

“The wicked, through the pride of his countenance, will not seek after God: God is not in all his thoughts.” Psalms 10:4, KJV

“The fear of the LORD is to hate evil: pride, and arrogancy, and the evil way, and the froward mouth, do I hate.” Proverbs 8:13, KJV

“When pride cometh, then cometh shame: but with the lowly is wisdom.” Proverbs 11:2, KJV

“Pride goeth before destruction, and an haughty spirit before a fall. Better it is to be of an humble spirit with the lowly, than to divide the spoil with the proud.” Proverbs 16:18-19, KJV

“But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble . . . Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.” James 4:6, 10, KJV

“Likewise, ye younger, submit yourselves unto the elder. Yea, all of you be subject one to another, and be clothed with humility: for God resisteth the proud, and giveth grace to the humble. Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time:” 1 Peter 5:5-6, KJV

Pride is not one of the things the Lord loves.  We shouldn’t either.  In our daily walk, we need to keep an eye on how our heart is.  I’ve had to learn this too, and it finally hit me just this morning how I’ve been prideful in my daily life, and I had an apology to do.

Is there pride hiding in your heart?  If so, pray, ask for help in loosening pride’s grip, and seek the Lord’s working for you.  You won’t be disappointed.

Note:  all verses referrenced here are from the KJV, listed from End Time Prophecy

Shared at: Photobucket

Growing Home

3 thoughts on “Saying “I’m Sorry”

  1. IT’s hard for me to say “I”m sorry” sometimes, too…but it’s not always about me, and it’s about doing what’s right sometimes 😉 🙂 Love and hugs from the ocean shores of California, Heather 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Oh, pride. Sigh… Its hard for me to say that and often times I say it though to take the burden from others, when really they need to own up to “I’m sorry”. I know I have a lot to work on! Thank you for the verses!
    Stopping by from the Gratituesday linky 🙂
    Cindy

    • This has been an area I’m having to work on a lot harder than I thought. But it sure makes a big difference in diffusing some situations….and I don’t like the green eyed Pride monster taking over!

We cherish your thoughts!

