This Handmade Life Part 8: Homemade From Scratch Bavarian Cream

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh doggies!  I love Bavarian cream almost as much as sweet milk chocolate!  (sorry, had to let my former Southern side out)

Bavarian cream is the absolutely heavenly cream found in bismarks, cream horns, danish, etc.  It’s a pudding consistency, and I am sooo addicted to it, I only allow myself some once every few years so I won’t overindulge.  Yes, to me, it’s that addicting!!

I just learned how to make this wonderful treat, while testing out recipes to make fried pies.  I just have to share!!

I didn’t get pics while making my own, but thought I’d share the process!  Yes, the pics are borrowed.

Ok, down to business!

First, grab yourself some milk.  You’ll need 2 cups at first, then another 1/2 cup.

Put the first 2 cups in a sauce pan.  Then, sprinkle over it 1/2 cup (or more if you like realllly sweet) sugar.  I personally put the heat on low, as I use a gas burner, I set the fire on pretty low.  This gives time for the rest of the steps and doesn’t scorch the milk.

In a bowl, put the 1/2 cup of milk in, add 3 tablespoons of cornstarch.

Whisk it into the milk until there’s no lumps.

Then, add 3 tablespoons of butter.  Your choice on kind.  Margarine works, real butter is nice, I used spread (it’s what I had on hand).

Blend it all together and then pour into the pan with milk and sugar.  Add in a cup of heavy whipping cream and 2 tablespoons of vanilla.

Then add in 2 eggs, and stir or whisk well.

Let all this good stuff come to a boil.  I cranked it up to high flame and let ‘er rip.  When it starts boiling, turn the heat down low and stir stir stir.  It will start thickening and you also don’t want the whole thing to burn.

Turn it off and move it off the heat to a different burner.  Let it cool a bit.  I stirred a while just for grins.  I’m odd that way.

It will thicken up nicely, and when cooler, take a taste. 🙂

To make this chocolatey, add in 2 to 3 tablespoons of chocolate powder (I used Hershey’s), and an extra half cup of sugar, and follow the same directions when preparing.

The kids are drooling, as I made this in chocolate and vanilla.  Then, I took some limes I froze (in the skin), boiled them, took the juice and flesh along with some cornstarch, and added some vanilla bavarian to it, and created lime bavarian.  YUM!  Oh…add some more sugar if you do that!!

This ends another segment of “This Handmade Life”!
Linked to:PhotobucketTip Junkie handmade projects

3 thoughts on “This Handmade Life Part 8: Homemade From Scratch Bavarian Cream

    • TY 🙂 I’d take pics along the way of making the pies, but the battery’s on the charger. 😦 Made up some and baked them instead of fried, and they smell sooooooo good. Key Lime (with real limes, not just juice), vanilla, and chocolate half moon ones to send with hubby on a retreat with the men from church.

We cherish your thoughts!

