Dear Shopper Staring at My Child Having a Meltdown in the Grocery Store

I ran across this at Flappiness Is, and I really believe it is worth a re-blog! As a parent of one bio son with autism/MR/bi polar, and stepmom to 2 on the autism spectrum, I absolutely understand without a shadow of a doubt just how this goes!!!

Enjoy the read and tell them Angie sent you!

Flappiness Is...

Dear Shopper,

Yes, I know.  I’m well aware that my child is screaming.  Not just a regular scream, but an ear-piercing, sanity-shattering screech.  Even if I wasn’t seeing and hearing it, I would know by the expression on your face.

Clearly, you have raised your children better than me.

That is what you were wanting to say, right?   There certainly can’t be any other purpose to you stopping in your tracks to stare or elbow your companion  or better yet — give knowing looks to other shoppers passing by.

I have no doubt that you have wonderful, well-behaved children.  Grown, tax-paying, law-abiding citizens who would never have dreamed of screaming like this in public when they were children.  Judging by your expression and utter exasperation, you’ve never hesitated to let them know who was boss.

And I know that you did your best with your children, that you loved…

View original post 972 more words

We cherish your thoughts!

