Heavenly Scents of Christmas

Oh how I love baking!  It’s a perfect season for cranking the oven up and popping in a wonderfully homemade pie, cobbler, bread, cake, cupcake….(sorry, drooling here).  I love having my kitchen smell of cinnamon and nutmeg, cloves and vanilla!

In my kitchen the sounds include the banging of pots and pans, which brings hubby running to see what delicious goody he’ll be eating soon.  Unfortunately the other main sound at times happens to be the smoke alarm (?!)  The kids are used to it.  Scary huh?

sweet potato cobbler

Today is cobbler day.  I have awesome memories of making cobbler with mom many many (many) years ago.  She taught me how to make the fruity liquid, then add in the yummy crust one spoon at a time.  After all baked, we’d sit and eat our fresh baked cobbler with a glass of milk, or ice cream if we had it.

apple cobbler

This Christmas is the first time I’ve made cobbler since I was a child.  The last time I remember making this, I was 11 or 12.  My how time flies!!  Anyway, I wanted to make something that would stretch a limited amount of fresh fruit and come out as a delicious dessert, as well as be easy on the wallet and supplies.

So, I brought out my medium sized soup pot and added a couple cups of water.  I put in approximately 1/4 cup of cornstarch as well.

Then, I added some fresh apples I’d just cut up and washed, as well as some cherry juice from a jar of marachino cherries we’d just finished. Then I put in some vanilla (didn’t measure, just poured) and milk powder.  Then I searched through my cupboard and found my cloves and cinnamon and spooned in a teaspoon of both.  Oh…and a pack of jello–my secret ingredient!

This all simmered for a while and thickened nicely.  While the pot was sitting on a low fire (we have an old gas stove), I mixed up whole wheat flour, white flour, sugar, and baking powder in a mixing bowl and then sat it aside.

Then out comes the baking pans! YAY!  I pulled out an old glass one, sprayed it down in my favorite spray (Aldi’s brand–hey, I’m frugal).  Then, I turned off the stove top and poured in the apples and liquid into the pan.  To make that crispy topping, I spooned the flour mix on top of the apple liquid mix, and then kinda pushed it down a little.  It goes in on it’s own, but I don’t mind “helping” it along.

Then, I baked it at around 400 degrees.

And hubby ran to go get some whipped topping.

I liked how this turned out, so I tried it all over again with some sweet potatoes this time.

I washed and cut up a few sweet potatoes, and put them in a larger pot to boil.  They boiled a while, and I mashed them down a bit.

Then, I added nearly the same ingredients as before, minus the cloves and cinnamon.

This made enough to make two pans of sweet potato cobbler!  YUMMY!

The Lord has been very kind to us, giving my family so much even in the tightest of times.  He’s given me just the right amounts of necessities to pull together homemade meals, made from scratch, and even plenty to give to others around us who could use a little extra to stretch their budget.

Won’t you give thanks to the Lord today, for all He has given to you?  If you’re reading this, you have electricity and a computer, internet, more than likely a roof, a warm home, you’re breathing, and alive one more day.  It is nearing the day we celebrate His birth–why not thank Him for coming to us and leaving for a while the glory of Heaven, to be here on earth for 33 years, to offer Himself a sacrifice for our sins on an old rugged cross.  He was born that he should willing offer up His life an acceptable sacrifice for the sins of men.

Tip Junkie handmade projects

<a href=" http://www.themodestmomblog.com

“>Photobucket

4 thoughts on “Heavenly Scents of Christmas

  1. The rhubarb and strawberry pie caught my eye. I grew up in Nova Scotia and my grandmother always had rhubard and strawberries in the garden and she would make them into the most amazing pies. Looks yummy.

    • Howdy Jennifer! LOL yep…jello works to add some flavor–the kids and hubby like their sweet fruity flavor, and jello is cheap enough..that and koolaid (but I had a ton of jello on hand so jello it was). 🙂 And it really helps in setting the inside fruity stuff too. 🙂 See ya in Prov 31!

We cherish your thoughts!

